Surpatele monastery bearing the festival "The Holy Trinity", is placed in Frincesti commune, Surpatele village, Valcea district, at a 12 kilometerís distance of Babeni station and at a 3 kilometersí distance of the Monastery "From One Piece of Wood".
The church was built by Tudor logofatul Dragoescu and his brother Stanciu, Popa Frincuís sons, at the beginning of 16th century (Pr. D. Balasa), rebuilt by the Buzesti boyars and repaired in 17th century.
Between 1703-1706, the church was rebuilt of wall by Mrs. Marica Brancoveanu, and also being painted. Later, in 1815 the church was repaired and repainted by the house painter Gheorghe Gherontie from Hurezi.
In 1872 the monastery was closed because of the ruin, the religious books being moved to the monastery "From One Piece of Wood", being restored between 1927-1935 by the Historical Monuments Organization (the 17cells were built at abbess Varvara Predescuí s efforts).
Alexandru Odobescu observed even since 1860 some valuable objects which existed in this monastery : a Gospel covered in silver, which was given by Constantin Brancoveanu when he was vel-spatar ( an ancient job), the bequest being written with his hand ;several icons.
The last improvement were made by Holy Episcopate of Ramnic and Arges between 1958-1959.